Skip to content

February 28, 2013

ordinaregardener

A new experiment in bread making. My daughter and I began a Sourdough starter today. 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of warm water which we beat in a 1 litre sealable jar.  My daughter thought that removing the flour and spreading it out on the table would be more enjoyable. She helped beat some air into the mixture, but to get lots of air into it I beat it furiously for a good ten minutes or so. I’ve kept it in the dining room, where the thermostat and the tumble drier are, as that should be one of the warmest parts of the house.

According to the River Cottage Bread book we will need to feed it tomorrow, once it has started fermenting, and then every day after that until I move it into the fridge to slow it down and reduce the frequency of feeding.

I used…

View original post 49 more words

From → Your choice

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

