Skip to content

February 24, 2013

The Cooking Bowl Daily

Whenever I have a motley of vegetables and a protein on hand, I like to make ragu. No, I’m not talking about the canned Ragu, but the type of sauce. I told my Mom of my cooking plans, and being a true Italian, she scolded me for attempting to cook with that slimy, sad knockoff canned sauce. I had to calmly remind her that I was doing nothing of the sort, and would never betray our tried and true family recipe.

Ragu is a sauce comprised of meat, typically minced, chopped, or ground, cooked with sautéed vegetables in a liquid of either wine, broth, or tomato puree. I stuck with the traditional tomato base, but opted for turkey instead of beef.

_MG_9416

 

 

Turkey Ragu with Pappardelle

Prep Time:   25 minutes    Cook Time: 10 minutes

 

Ingredients

  • 1lb pappardelle pasta
  • 1 medium onion, quartered
  • 2 garlic gloves, peeled
  • 1 green…

View original post 258 more words

From → Your choice

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

